Butterflies for a Baby Shower

My sister-in-law, Jen, asked me to make a cake for a baby shower she was having for a coworker of hers. The mom-to-be is expecting a girl but Jen didn’t want the cake to be too PINK. She showed me the inspiration picture below and asked for purple and pink butterflies, and possibly combed sides on the cake.

[photo credit]

For the butterflies, I used a technique from Hello Cupcake! – a book with tons of creative cupcake designs. Annie, of Annie’s Eats, posted about these cupcakes last year and I basically followed her directions with a few modifications.

I used white chocolate candy melts (because I stopped by Walmart instead of Michael’s and they only had white) and I colored them using Violet and Rose Wilton gel colors. This type of color isn’t exactly what you’re supposed to use on candy melts and after the wings were set, the color wasn’t very solid. But it worked out okay in this case given that the wings were swirled and not smooth anyway. I made 8 butterflies.

The cake is an 8″ round white cake. I tried a new white cake recipe this time and I was very pleased. I read this blog post from The Way the Cookie Crumbles that compares 3 different white cake recipes. I went with Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake and it was white, moist and delicious. The only issue I had was with the height of the cakes. One recipe made 2 8″ rounds and they were each barely an inch tall. Once I leveled them, the cake would be very short. I ended up making one more 8″ round and making this a 3 layer cake. It came out to be about 4 inches tall in the end.

This cake had a raspberry filling. I had planned to make the filling from scratch, but I was short on time, so I used raspberry jam. I put a very thin layer of buttercream under the filling to help prevent the filling from bleeding into the cake.

I also used a new vanilla buttercream recipe that I found in this blog post from Annie’s Eats. It’s butter and powdered sugar, and no shortening. It also has a couple tablespoons of heavy cream. It was nice and fluffy, tasty, easy to work with, and crusted well. I will definitely be using this recipe again!

One Response to Butterflies for a Baby Shower

  1. [...] the butterflies, I used a technique that I’ve used before from Hello, Cupcake! – and instructions from Annie’s Eats. I used pink candy melts to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

