Halloween Cupcakes

HW 007_c

October 2009

The Jack-O-Lantern cupcakes are chocolate cake (box mix, with a packet of pudding added). The icing is Wilton’s buttercream and I used the Wilton gel colors to make the orange and green. This was the first time I had used a leaf tip – I think I need more practice! For the “face” I used a can of pre-made frosting and mixed in 1/2 tsp (plus a tiny bit more) of black liquid food coloring.

The Spider Web cupcakes are the same chocolate cake as above, and the same icing recipe, only tinted purple. The spider webs are made of melted white chocolate chips. I melted them in the microwave and then piped it over an outline of a spider web. Then chilled it for 10 minutes in the fridge. (I discovered when I tried to “practice” this with some semi-sweet chocolate chips the day before that this does not work with regular chocolate, only white! Regular will melt again when taken out of the fridge.)

2 Responses to Halloween Cupcakes

  1. Michael says:

    oh so cute!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  2. […] made Halloween cupcakes before and these are similar, decoration-wise. But this time I wanted to try out a new yellow cupcake […]

Leave a Reply

