Jungle Baby Shower

January 2010

Months ago, some friends and I got together (via email) and started to plan a baby shower for another friend. Right away, I volunteered to make the cake.  I was really excited for this and I had about 8,000 ideas! We were doing a jungle theme so I was thinking monkeys, elephants, grass, trees, etc. After changing my mind many times, I finally decided on the design a few days before the event.

The cake is Wilton’s golden yellow cake which I have made before and really liked. I made two 10″ rounds and one 6″ round. It is filled with Oreo cream cheese and the icing on top is chocolate buttercream (my mom’s recipe). The green is actually a jar of Betty Crocker icing (eek, I know, but I was already making two kinds of icing, so I thought I’d get the third ready made). And then I used blue gel for the water and light brown sugar for the “sand”.

I got the little animals at Michaels – they came in a set. And I made the palm tree out of royal icing and a pretzel rod. This was my first time making and using royal icing (with meringue powder). The palm tree in the picture is actually the second one I made – the first one was sort of messy! Royal icing needs to dry overnight before being handled – not just 30 minutes – lesson learned!

This was also the first time I used the multi-opening tip #233 to make the grass. After my first test, I was thrilled at how it really looks like grass!

I am really pleased with how this turned out – it may well be my best effort yet! I definitely worked on it for about 3 days and I am so glad that I could contribute this to the shower. Unfortunately, I was unable to attend the actual shower so I haven’t got the verdict back on the taste yet, but hopefully it went over well!

6 Responses to Jungle Baby Shower

  1. Amanda says:

    It looks great!!!!

  2. fieryirishangel0403 says:

    Sarah, we were all completely delighted to realize that it was a cookies ‘n’ cream filling. It tasted great! The palm tree was so cute 🙂

  3. sarah&johnny says:

    It looked and tasted amazing!

  4. […] friend, Tyler, was there for the baby shower when I made the jungle cake. After the shower, she emailed me and asked me if I could make her a cake for an engagement party […]

  5. […] friend of mine, Krissy, had a beautiful baby girl in January, Annie. (I made the jungle shower cake for one of Krissy’s showers.) Annie’s baptism was this weekend and Krissy asked me to […]

Leave a Reply

