An IU Engagement

February 2010

My friend, Tyler, was there for the baby shower when I made the jungle cake. After the shower, she emailed me and asked me if I could make her a cake for an engagement party she was throwing. She wanted a sheet cake to feed about 50 people – and for decoration, the Indiana University logo with an engagement ring hanging off of it.

I made 4 9×13 cakes – 2 chocolate and 2 yellow. I stacked them and placed them side by side to make a 1/2 sheet cake that was approximately 12×18. I also made a quadruple batch of Wilton’s vanilla buttercream. A quadruple batch! A pound of butter, 4 pounds of sugar…I was stunned by the sheer quantities of butter, sugar, milk, and eggs I stocked up on for this cake!

For the logo, I purchased ready made fondant (Wilton) this time. I found it slightly less tasty, but quite a bit easier to work with. I assume because the ready made stuff is exactly the perfect consistency, where as my homemade stuff…isn’t. Anyway, I tinted some of it maroon using Red-Red and Burgundy colors. I rolled it out and used a ruler and a pizza cutter to cut out the pieces for the logo. For the ring, I used gray and white fondant and used cookie cutters to make the shape. I also tried using luster dust for the first time. I mixed some silver dust with lemon extract and painted the gray ring to try to give it a sparkly finish. I wasn’t too impressed with the results. Perhaps I should have used a much lighter gray fondant as the base – or just white. I also used pearl white dust on the “diamond” on the ring.

I thought the hardest part of this cake would be the logo. I was wrong. That was the easiest part! I thought sheet cake = easy, right? It’s just a rectangle, no tiers, nothing fancy. Yeah…it was a lot more difficult than I anticipated. I just don’t have the space in my kitchen or the equipment to make a cake of this size efficiently. I was having trouble with the cakes themselves – cooling them, flipping them, etc. Plus I needed space to lay out 4 cakes, plus work space for two huge bowls of icing. It was certainly a challenge, but I am pleased that it came out well!

3 Responses to An IU Engagement

  1. Tyler says:

    Thanks so much! It was such a hit. People raved both about the engagement ring on the logo and also how delicious the cake was!

  2. […] made the IU engagement cake for Tyler back in February and a few weeks ago she asked if I’d be willing to whip up some […]

  3. […] and Black Wilton gel colors to tint the fondant. I was going for a dark red color (similar to this that I did with Red-Red- and Burgundy) but this time it ended up a little more purple. I used my […]

Leave a Reply

