Jen's Bridal Shower

March 2010

Jen is my future sister-in-law. She is marrying my husband’s brother at the end of April! She was also a bridesmaid in my wedding and I am a bridesmaid in hers, so I was very excited to throw her a shower (with my mother-in-law). It was the first shower I have given and I thought we all had a great time. And naturally, I volunteered to make the cake!

Jen said she wanted chocolate, but for some reason I didn’t want to do chocolate icing. For one thing, her wedding cake will be chocolate icing, and I wanted to do something different, and for another, I was thinking “light, springy” so I wanted to do something else. After much contemplation, I finally made the decision the week of the shower to go with chocolate cake, cream cheese icing, and chocolate cream cheese filling. I would make the decorations with fondant.

I mixed up 3 colors of Wilton’s fondant using Wilton’s colors: blue (Royal Blue and a touch of Black), yellow (a touch of Lemon Yellow), and green (Leaf Green and a touch of Black). I used a tulip cutter and alphabet cutters to make the flowers and the letters. I used a pizza cutter for the flower stems. I’ve decided I love using fondant for decorations. It’s surprisingly easy to work with and I think it looks very nice.

I made 2 10″ round chocolate cakes with this recipe. This is my go-to chocolate cake recipe – it is moist, chocolatey, and delicious! I also made a double batch of cream cheese icing and tinted it light blue. I used Royal Blue color, but since the icing itself was slightly yellow-ish due to the butter and vanilla, it came out a little on the green side. And finally, I made a 3/4 batch (I know, odd) of cream cheese icing and added some cocoa powder. This was the filling.

I filled and iced the cake using my new offset spatula. Have I raved about this yet? It’s amazing how that tiny little bend in the spatula can make icing SO much easier!! I’ve used it on my past couple of cakes. Anyway, I finished the icing with a bead border. I arranged the fondant letters to spell “Congratulations Jen”. And I arranged the tulips into a bouquet.

I was really pleased with the way this cake turned out. And on the stress scale, it came in very low!! And it was well received at the shower which is the important part 🙂

Leave a Reply

