Super Mario Mushrooms

July 2010

For my birthday this year, my sister gave me a Big Top Cupcake set for making giant cupcakes!

I had planned on making her a giant cupcake for her birthday in March, but I wasn’t able to attend her birthday celebration. I had already come up with a plan for it, so now, 4 months later, I finally was able to make it.

I am a huge fan of the old Super Mario Bros. games for NES. I’ve played them hundreds of times and have a definite soft spot for them. When I saw the giant cupcake mold, I immediately thought “Mario mushroom”!

I used 2 boxes of Funfetti cake mix and had plenty of batter for the molds plus 24 mini cupcakes (and even more batter leftover). I baked the giant cupcake with the insert to make a well in the cake for a filling. I filled it with vanilla pudding.

I mixed up two batches of Wilton’s buttercream icing. I divided it into several bowls and made 6 different colors of icing: tan, black, white, green, red, and blue. I iced the cupcakes with red, blue, and green and added little dots with white. I iced the bottom of the mushroom with tan and the top with green. I added the white spots and the eyes and voila – a Mario mushroom, and baby mushrooms!

The cake was actually very good because I think some of the vanilla pudding seeped into the cake. Yum!

One Response to Super Mario Mushrooms

  1. Lindsey says:

    What a creative way to use that cake pan! I see it and think, “Ok, I can make giant cupcakes. Awesome.” Mario mushrooms would never have occurred to me. Amazing job!

Leave a Reply

