Chocolate Melting Cake

August 2010

Today is my husband’s birthday – woohoo! Happy Birthday Bill!! Now normally I would make a birthday cake for him, but he requested a slightly different kind of dessert – Chocolate Melting Cake (CMC). This is a dessert that we had last Fall on our Carnival Cruise. It was so good that I’m pretty sure Bill had it every night on the cruise!

For Christmas last year, our friend Valerie (who was on the cruise with us) tracked down the recipe for CMC and gave me a basket full of ramekins, flour, sugar, chocolate – basically everything I would need to recreate this! It took me almost 9 months to get around to it, but I gave it a try.

My concern with this was baking it for the exact right amount of time – the recipe said 15-20 mins. As with crème brûlée and chocolate lava cake (both of which I’ve made multiple times before) the timing is essential. Overcooking it sort of ruins the effect.

The first batch I made, I overcooked. I was remembering the consistency incorrectly and when I checked it at 15 mins, I didn’t think it was done (even though it was really overdone at this point). I left them in for 20 mins and got this.

Weird looking! And overdone. They still tasted fine – moist, dense, fudgy cake. But not what I was going for. Luckily I had extra batter, so I made two more and this time baked them for 10 minutes, checked them, and put them in for another 3 minutes for a total of 13 minutes. These were much better, but still not quite right according to Bill’s expert knowledge of CMC!

So next time I will go for only 10 minutes. I was nervous about under cooking them given that they are full of eggs, but I guess I just need to relax. It’s a recipe that requires “perfecting” so hopefully next time they’ll be perfect 🙂

Crème brûlée
Leave a Reply

