Happy Birthday Nancy

August 2010

Saturday was my aunt, Nancy’s, birthday. She happened to be in town so we got to celebrate with her this year. My mom asked me to make a cake for her and I was happy to! Nancy said yellow cake and chocolate frosting was her favorite, so that’s what I went for.

I made a 2 layer 8″ round cake with my go-to yellow cake recipe. The cake turned out a little dry this time so I’m thinking that I overcooked it slightly. It’s either that or the fact that I used whole milk instead of skim had some kind of effect. For the frosting, I made a chocolate buttercream.

After icing the cake, I decided to try a technique called “the paper towel method”. Using a non-patterned/textured paper towel (Viva brand) you lay the towel onto the crusted cake and basically iron it with a fondant smoother. I wasn’t pleased with the results. It did smooth any bumps or ridges out of the icing, but it made it look wrinkled – like elephant skin. I thought the icing that I’d done with my “putty knife” looked better. I’d like to try this again with a different icing recipe and see if that works better.

But back to this cake. For the decorations, I tinted some fondant blue and orange and I cut out some flowers. For the white centers, I used some white pearl sprinkles and secured them with a tiny spot of white buttercream.

One Response to Happy Birthday Nancy

  1. […] it made for a nice festive birthday cake. Oh and I used some orange icing I had leftover from Nancy’s cake to write the inscription. I think my writing skills are improving – very, very slowly! […]

Leave a Reply

