Boston Cream Cupcakes (sort of)

I had some left over yellow cake cupcakes from another project (see next post) so I thought I’d try to throw something together to resemble Boston Cream cupcakes.

I mixed up a box of vanilla pudding and made a basic chocolate ganache. I used the cone method and filled the cupcakes with the vanilla pudding. I had planned to dip the cupcakes in the ganache to create a nice smooth top, but since I had cut into the top to fill them, the top was not smooth after the dip. So then a spread a (lumpy) layer of ganache on top.  Going from bad to worse here. Finally I dusted the top with powdered sugar to try to detract from the icing job, but that wasn’t a good idea either.

So these cupcakes, while they tasted perfectly fine, were a FAIL from a decorating standpoint.  They also were a poor imitation of real Boston Cream. I’ll make another attempt at these at a later date and make the cream from scratch rather than using filling – maybe that will help!

One Response to Boston Cream Cupcakes (sort of)

  1. […] but this seemed like a good time to give it a shot. I made a half-assed attempt at Boston Cream cupcakes awhile back, but this time I used an actual recipe and made real pastry cream. Or attempted to do […]

Leave a Reply

