We’re halfway there…

I hit the halfway mark in my pregnancy over the weekend – 20 weeks! 5 months down, 5 to go. Wait, aren’t we supposed to be pregnant for 9 months, not 10? That’s what you always hear – women are pregnant for 9 months. But then you figure that they count it out in 40 weeks and 40 weeks is actually 10 months. I assume that the fact that you don’t find out that you’re pregnant until the 2nd month accounts for the confusion. But at any rate, we are halfway through!!

This past Friday we had our anatomy scan (aka “the big ultrasound”). The purpose of the anatomy scan is for them to take a close look at our baby and make sure that he or she is developing normally and on schedule. Our baby measured right on track and weighed in at 11 ounces. We got close looks at his brain, the 4 chambers of his heart, his hands, his feet, and his face and all looked great!

Did I say “his”? Yep, our lazy child uncrossed his legs long enough for the tech to get a peek in there and let us know that our baby is a BOY!! And then he promptly fell asleep, even though the scan wasn’t over and we weren’t able to see everything we needed to see. But that just means that we get to go back next month for another look! Maybe I should down some OJ or a soda beforehand to wake him up…

Here is a profile picture of our little guy. This is after he fell asleep and you can seem him just casually leaning up against the side of his bubble for a nap.

Before I end this post, I’d like to offer an apology to a few of my friends for having to see every baby announcement/update I make several times over. With blogging and Facebooking and Nesting and telling people personally or privately I’m afraid that some of my friends have heard my updates more than they needed to. Thanks for not telling me to shut it 🙂

Leave a Reply

