It’s my Birthday….and a Confession

Today is my birthday! I know people have varying sentiments about birthdays. Some dread them, some say they’re really just for kids. But I am one of those people who is always excited for my birthday. I look forward to a new year and a fresh start, and I am happy to have an excuse to get together with my family and friends. I am turning 31 today and I can tell already that it is going to be a very busy and exciting year!!

My mom has always made me a birthday cake, and I always loved them. It was usually a basic yellow cake from a box and a homemade chocolate buttercream icing that was delicious! Cake was always from a box mix – I never knew anyone who made cakes from scratch. Icings, yes, but cakes, no. Over Christmas, I made a chocolate cake from a box mix because I needed it for a trifle. This was the first time I had made a cake from a box in many months, maybe a year. And my first thought was…”wow that was so much easier and faster!”. And you know what, it is. It’s easier, faster, and it really tastes just about as good as homemade, especially if you add pudding mix. I realize this sounds sacrilegious, but eh.

**Now I’d like to note here that when someone orders a cake/cupcakes from me, and they pay me for a custom creation, I absolutely make both the cake and icing from scratch. Occasionally I have used ready-made jam for a fruit filling in a cake, and I usually use pre-made fondant (as most bakeries do) but aside from that, everything is from scratch.**

Even though we had box mix cakes growing up, we never had canned icing – my mom always made that from scratch. And in general, I prefer homemade icings. They are more varied and are generally easier to work with. Canned icing doesn’t crust very well (if at all) and that can be an issue.

However (here comes my confession), if you ask me what kind of cake I want for my birthday, what I really want is Funfetti cake – from a box – with vanilla icing – from a can.

One Response to It’s my Birthday….and a Confession

  1. Jen says:

    Totally doable – just place your order. 🙂

Leave a Reply

