The Bathroom: A Plan

[Pictures from Lowes, except paint sample from Behr/Home Depot]

I have zero design experience or expertise. Like none. And this bathroom very nearly defeated me because starting from scratch was so overwhelming. What do I pick out first? Vanity? Tile? Wood tone? Overall theme? And what goes with what??? The possibilities are endless.

I think what I picked first was the wood tone for the vanity. Dark. Check. Then the color for the bathtub and toilet. White. Check. Then tile for the bathtub/shower. Plain white 6″ squares. Check.

Then the finish for the faucets. I picked brushed nickel which is not something we have anywhere else in our house. But I figured, a) the basement is a whole level of our house separate from anything else so I care not if the faucets down here match the ones upstairs, and b) our other 2 bathrooms don’t match either (one builder-grade chrome, the other oil rubbed bronze) so why not make them all different. Plus I thought a cooler/lighter metal would be good with the darker vanity. Check.

Then I picked out the vanity itself. (The one pictured above is the actual vanity I chose.) It’s actually one of the few models Lowes had out on the floor – complete with the vanity top and everything, and for a decent price. Vanity + top combo = one less choice for me to make. Check.

Then came floor tile. (The one pictured above is the actual floor tile I chose.) We decided to go with vinyl tile over ceramic because it costs less and it would be easier to install. Also, I’d be able to pick out a marble-looking tile in vinyl that wouldn’t be in our budget if we went with ceramic. I wanted to add some gray to this bathroom so I went looking for tile that had some gray and also brown to tie in with the vanity and vanity top. Check.

Now to paint. I wanted a gray with brown undertones. I made 2 trips to Home Depot for paint chips and finally picked Cotton Knit by Behr (pictured above). It doesn’t really have much (if any) gray in it which was a little disappointing, but the grays that I found were all too dark or too cold. And this color will look perfectly fine with everything, so no problem. Check.

The light fixture and mirror above the vanity are both still outstanding. The mirror pictured above is probably the one I’ll get. It’s the same finish as the vanity so I know it will match – and we know how much I hate to try to match finishes! The light fixture I haven’t picked yet, but it will be something like what is pictured above.

So what have we done so far?

  • Purchased the bathtub, tub tile, tub faucet, paint, floor tile, and sink faucet
  • Bathtub is installed
  • Bill tiled the bathtub/shower this past weekend, but still needs to grout it. He ended up going with 4″ tiles instead of 6″ due to cost and to minimize the amount of cutting needed.
  • Painting is done

And what do we still have left to do?

  • Purchase toilet and vanity (our plumber will install both of these, along with the sink faucet)
  • Install shower faucet (our plumber will do this too)
  • Tile the floor
  • Purchase the vanity light fixture (the electrician will install this)
  • Purchase and hang vanity mirror

And how much time do we have before Baby Mac (aka Derald) arrives (assuming that he’s not early)? 7 weeks and counting…

4 Responses to The Bathroom: A Plan

  1. Wawa says:

    Home stretch!! Good choices all around. I really like that vanity.

  2. […] The Bathroom: A Plan « Decorate ThisDescription : I wanted to add some gray to this bathroom so I went looking for tile that had some gray and also brown to tie in with the vanity and vanity top. Check. Now to paint. I wanted a gray with brown undertones. I made 2 trips to Home Depot …http://skdecoratethis.wordpres .. […]

  3. Jen says:

    I love your choices! Can’t wait to see it all put together, the whole basement is going to look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

