The Nursery

We are less than 2 weeks away from Baby Mac’s due date and the nursery is finally done (-ish). Nothing like coming down to the wire!! There are still a few things we want to add but it is certainly ready for him at this point. So, here’s the nursery story 🙂

The first thing we did months ago was choose a bedding set. Yes, bedding sets can be a waste, but I was just having a hard time coming up with something on my own, so picking a set to use as inspiration really helped.

We (easily) agreed on this one by Trend Lab:

I loved the rockets (because I’m a nerd) and I loved the stars and moons. And I also liked that this wasn’t one of the super cliche nursery themes that you often see.

Bill had it in his head from the start that he wanted to do some kind of mural or creative painting on the walls. I wasn’t sure how this would work in such a small room, but I left it to him – he’s the artist, not me!! After seeing the bedding, he decided to do a “day and night” theme. One side of the room would be painted light blue with clouds and the other side would be painted dark blue with stars. It came out fabulously! The moon and stars even glow in the dark!

Here’s the view looking into the room (it’s tiny – maybe 8×10 so it was hard to get wide shots):

And the view of the “Day” wall with the dresser and rocking chair:

Here is the “Night” wall with the crib:

And the closet wall (same wall as the door):

We went with the Graco Lauren crib in white. It was highly recommended pretty much everywhere I looked and widely available, so we got it from Babies R Us. The dresser is the Hemnes 3 drawer chest from Ikea. The rocking chair was a gift from my parents. It was my great-grandmother’s and it was in my nursery when I was a baby and in my sister’s. My parents had it repaired, refinished, and reupholstered for us.

Originally, this room had no overhead light fixture. I was trying to figure out where I would be able to put some lamps in this room when Bill suggested that we look into putting in an overhead fixture. I figured it would be too expensive, but after checking with our electrician (who was at our house doing some work in the basement) it turned out that it wasn’t expensive at all! So the fixture was installed and now we have light!! Of course this was the day after I had bought a new floor lamp and thrown away the box. Oops. Oh well, I’ll probably move that to the basement or something.

I wish we had room for a bookshelf or something for toy storage but we really don’t. (The fact that the previous owners of our house had 2 boys in bunk beds living in this room baffles me.) There’s plenty of storage space in the room (closet, dresser, even under the crib) but no real place for “display storage”. I am still considering getting a skinny bookshelf to put next to the dresser. As much as I really don’t want to cram another piece of furniture in here, I think I’m going to have to. The other options are some kind of low cubbies or something under the window and/or floating shelves on the wall near the rocker.

3 Responses to The Nursery

  1. Jen says:

    It looks incredible! You guys did a super job! The little guy is going to love his room. 🙂

  2. Mom/Robin says:

    The nursery looks great! Baby Mac is lucky to have such creative parents who did a fantastic job pulling it all together.
    Now all we need is a baby to put in the nursery!

  3. […] Caelan’s nursery (and Caelan will move into his new room). If you remember, Caelan’s nursery is very blue. The “day and night” theme is pretty gender neutral which is great, but […]

Leave a Reply

