Rachel’s Bridal Shower

On April 30th, I co-hosted my sister’s bridal shower. I am so glad that even though I was 35 weeks pregnant, I was still feeling good and able to contribute!

I used Vista Print to make up some cute (CYUTE) invitations…

I was also in charge of favors which is something that usually falls by the wayside because people either forget to take them or they just toss them. But I love favors and wanted to do something cute. I picked up a favor kit from Michael’s that came with some clear boxes and silver ribbon. I think edible is the way to go, so I went on the hunt for some kind of candy in a pink wrapper (pink is my sister’s wedding color) and I found Hershey’s Bliss Dark Chocolate pieces. I ordered some stickers from VistaPrint for the labels that match the invitations and voila – favors 🙂 I wish I had a picture of the actual favors, but I don’t.

And of course I was in charge of the cake. I wanted to make a really spectacular cake for my sister’s shower, but unfortunately I didn’t meet my own expectations. The cake was tasty and people seemed to like it, but I wish I could have done more. (Again, I don’t have a good picture.)

Rachel asked for yellow cake and vanilla frosting – simple as can be!! I decided to try out a new yellow cake recipe and went with this one from Smitten Kitchen. Deb’s carrot cake is fabulous, so I figured I could trust another cake recipe from her. The cake was less moist than the Wilton yellow cake I usually use, but it was dense and carved well. It held up very well to being sliced in small pieces. I made 2 recipes for a 2 layer 1/4 sheet cake. The layers were very tall, so the cake overall was too. I’m not sure whether or not I’ll make this cake again, but I will keep the recipe if I need a very sturdy cake.

For the icing I made this flour icing (I never know what to call it!). As usual, I think I got the heating of the flour/milk mixture wrong – or was it the cooling? All I know is when I mixed it into the butter/sugar mixture, I got tiny sesame-seed-sized bits of the flour mixture that wouldn’t mix in 😦 I did not have the separating issue I had the last time I made this frosting, so maybe I just need to give it a 3rd try. It is very tasty and is refreshingly different than normal American buttercream.

For the decorations, I cut daisies out of fondant and painted them with red and white pearl dust. I love using the pearl dust because it always looks so nice! I do NOT love mixing up pink icing. I can never arrive at a nice color of pink and I usually end up somewhere around a coral color.

The rest of the shower, my “aunt” took care of. My sister is a vegetarian, so 95% of the food was vegetarian also. There were several varieties of quiche, a fruit salad, a green salad, steamed shrimp, and veggies.

2 Responses to Rachel’s Bridal Shower

  1. Joan G says:

    I can’t believe you did that cake at 35 wks pregnant! You’re superwoman!!

  2. […] decided to use the yellow cake recipe I found over at Smitten Kitchen. I’ve used this recipe once before and I know it makes a nice dense cake which would be great for carving since the plan here was to […]

Leave a Reply

