Our Living Room Lay Abandoned…

Before we had the basement (and the baby) we spent our evenings and weekends in our living room. It’s where our big TV was, where our game consoles were, and where my computer was. We’d come home from work, eat dinner, and then hang out in the living room watching TV, being on the computer, paying bills, folding laundry, etc until it was time for bed. At the risk of sounding super cheesy – it was the heart of our home.

Now that room is a wasteland. Half of the furniture, including the TV, has been moved out of there. Displaced office furniture and office supplies take up one corner of the room. The now spacious floor is littered with dropped bibs or burp cloths, a changing pad, bags of baby clothes and supplies not yet in use, empty diaper boxes, a car seat, and a printer (yep one of the ol’ fax/scanner/copier ones). This room that was once the center of our home was abandoned 3 months ago, immediately after we brought the baby home. We spend approximately zero time there now.

The plan for this room was for it to become half office, half formal living room. And by “formal” I mean there wouldn’t be a TV in there, there won’t actually be anything “formal” about it. Because we got the basement finished in just the nick of time and our priority was to get that new family room usable, the living room lay abandoned. Unfortunately, it’s the first room you see when you come into our house, so the fact that it’s in such disarray is embarrassing. And it’s increasingly annoying for both Bill and myself. It would really be nice to get it together. And it would be nice to get the office side of the room operational too so that when I need to print something I don’t have to plug my laptop into the printer on the floor.

I’d include a picture, but it’s just too sad. I think I’ll take one and share it later, as a “before” picture once the room is presentable.

I am going to be hosting a party in this room 2 months from now so that’s how long I have to whip it into shape! I like working on a deadline – it’s very motivational. My pregnancy due date definitely kicked our basement project into high gear, but since I don’t plan to have another baby in the next 2 months, this party will have to do for motivation! Now if only I had some free time…

Leave a Reply

