Halloween Cupcakes, Take 2

I’ve only baked a handful of times this year since I’ve been preoccupied with other things (you know, my son, my husband, my wreck of a house, etc). The large blocks of free time that are required for baking are hard to come by these days! But I had the itch to bake and I had a relatively free weekend ahead of me AND Halloween was on the other side of that weekend which meant it was the perfect opportunity to make some Halloween cupcakes and pawn them off on my coworkers!

I made Halloween cupcakes before and these are similar, decoration-wise. But this time I wanted to try out a new yellow cupcake recipe. I looked at this handy comparison of 3 different yellow cake recipes from The Way The Cookie Crumbles, and decided to try Martha Stewart’s Yellow Butter Cake. I was hoping for a cupcake that had a bit of a dome to it because I need that sort of cupcake for an upcoming project, but it didn’t work out with this recipe. It’s a good cake, but it made flat cupcakes. Oh well, the search for a well-domed cupcake continues.

I used this vanilla buttercream recipe that has now become my favorite, and I mixed up several different colors in order to make jack-o-lanterns, vampires, a plain black for behind the spider webs, and the eyeballs. The eyeballs were an afterthought – I had some leftover batter so I made a few mini cupcakes and eyeballs seemed like a good choice for those. The spider webs are made of white chocolate. I forgot what a pain in the butt those were to make!! The white chocolate has to be exactly the right amount of melted for piping and I could barely complete one web before having to re-melt the chocolate.

2 Responses to Halloween Cupcakes, Take 2

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    So so so cute! I love how much detail you put into them. I think the little eyeball one is my favorite!

  2. Jen B says:

    I would so eat one of those little pumpkin dudes for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

