I never thought I’d be a programmer

I graduated from college in December 2003 and spent a year sending out resumes and trying to find a job in my field (IT). I had a really hard time finding something, most likely because I had no work experience at all. Well, not in this field anyway. I sent out close to 100 resumes and I went on only about a half dozen interviews.

I finally interviewed with a small consulting company in my hometown for a programming position. Now when I was in school, I hated programming. HATED. As in, I cried and cursed and frantically tried to get my mess of a program to compile at 11:59pm so I could submit it by midnight. And I swore I could never be a programmer because of how frustrating and stressful it is.

In the year between getting my degree and getting my job, I built a website. It’s no longer up and running, but I designed and built a Harry Potter website called 12 Grimmauld Place. I had learned HTML and CSS in one of the last courses I took at UMBC and I enjoyed the structure and organization of writing a webpage. I picked up a familiarity with JavaScript during this process – enough to copy a free sample of code and tweak it for my use.

It turns out that that got me my job.

Seven years ago today I sat in this same chair at this same desk in front of this same screen with that JavaScript book in my lap as I was thrown into the deep end and asked to write some original code. It took me a little bit of time to come up to speed, but I learned quickly.

Now I’m a senior staff member, having been here longer than most of the others. I’m not sure whether or not I thought I’d be here this long and I’m not sure whether or not I’ll stay another 7 years. But I work for a company full of good people who took a chance on me and I will always be grateful for that.

One Response to I never thought I’d be a programmer

  1. Jen says:

    It’s so funny how that works out sometimes – blood bank was my least favorite class in med tech school, and here I am making blood grouping reagents. I don’t know the first thing about programming, but it sure looks hard and if you’ve been doing it well for this long, then you must be brilliant! 🙂

    Also, I am disappointed your site isn’t up and running anymore! I don’t think I’ve ever seen it and I’m insanely curious!

Leave a Reply

