Homemade lollipops? Sure! I have time for that

Someone has a 1st birthday coming up!! That means 3 things:

Mixed emotions going on here, but I have been focusing on party planning for the past month or so. Well, party prep really since the planning has been going on a lot longer than a month!! I will have a post or two to share with you after the big day, but I’m going to share one thing beforehand.

The major party project I took on (other than the cake/cupcakes which I will be doing next week) is something that I decided to do kind of on a whim. I wasn’t planning on doing favors or goodie bags since we only have a few kids attending and adults don’t tend to care about or expect a favor. But then I saw this:

And since we’re doing a jungle theme and our nickname for Caelan is “monkey” well, I just had to make these lollipops!

I picked up all of the supplies I’d need at JoAnn’s and since I’d never made lollipops before, I checked out a couple of YouTube videos with demonstrations. It’s not rocket science, but it is meticulous and time consuming work. Once I got the hang of it, I could make 6 in about an hour. So a few evenings a week over the course of a few weeks, I made lots and lots of lollipops! I had a little trouble with the green candy in particular – it tended to stick. Not sure why. But overall, I love how they came out and I think they will be perfect for our little monkey’s party!

3 Responses to Homemade lollipops? Sure! I have time for that

  1. Natalie says:

    Wow Sarah, they look fantastic!!

  2. Jen says:

    They look great, can’t wait to try one!

  3. Nancy says:

    Wow, Sarah – you are amazing!! Can’t wait to see you all :-).

Leave a Reply

