Caelan’s Birthday Party: Cake and Cupcakes

Obviously, I was going to make the cake/cupcakes for Caelan’s party. Given how many cakes I’ve made for other people’s birthdays, baby showers, etc it would have just been weird if I didn’t make a cake for Caelan. Plus, my mom always made our birthday cakes growing up so it seemed like the right thing to do. And, of course, I wanted to šŸ™‚

Although, my mom also made our Halloween costumes and I think I’m going to have to let that one go. But I digress…Back to cake šŸ™‚

I decided to do a cupcake tower/display for the guests and a smash cake for Caelan. Here are my inspiration pictures – party supplies from the theme I chose.

I had a ridiculous amount of indecision regarding how many cupcakes to make, how many flavors, which recipe, etc. I was annoyed with myself by the end, but for our 36 guests, this is what I ended up with:

  • 1 6″ round yellow cake
  • 1 batch of vanilla buttercream frosting (divided: blue, brown, medium brown, light brown)
  • 4 dozen yellow cupcakes
  • 1 batch of vanilla buttercream frosting (orange) – 16 cupcakes
  • 1 batch of lemon buttercream frosting (yellow) – 16 cupcakes
  • 1 batch of lime buttercream frosting (green) – 16 cupcakes

I used this recipe for the cake and cupcakes. The frosting is all from the same recipe, I just switched out some of the vanilla extract for lemon extract or lime juice for the lemon and lime versions. I made and colored all of the frosting the weekend before which was definitely the way to go. Having that all ready to go when I was putting things together at the last minute was awesome. Frosting the 4 dozen cupcakes took all of about 30 minutes.

For the smash cake, I printed out the monkey from the napkin (pictured above) and traced his face onto some wax paper. Then I laid that on top of the iced cake and traced the outline into the icing. I used various star and round tips to fill in the monkey’s face with the 3 shades of brown icing. It’s kind of a lot of effort to go through for a cake that’s (hopefully) going to be smashed by a 1-year-old, but it really didn’t take that long to do, and it was cute šŸ™‚

A few weeks in advance, I made the cupcake picks. Using the noise makers (pictured above) for inspiration, I designed some cupcake toppers using MS Word. I cut them all out using a giant hole punch and I also cut out cardstock circles in coordinating orange, yellow, and green. A couple evenings of watching TV and gluing paper to toothpicks, and they were ready to go!

For such a large amount of cake and cupcakes, it actually didn’t take me that long to put together. Honestly, the biggest challenge was clearing space in our fridge for 2 large cupcake boxes and a cake box! But it was a good excuse to clean out the fridge šŸ™‚

7 Responses to Caelan’s Birthday Party: Cake and Cupcakes

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Loved your creations , so lovely! =)

  2. gercakes says:

    So cute! šŸ™‚

  3. Jen says:

    I can testify to the deliciousness of the cupcakes with lemon icing!

  4. Bridget says:

    I am curious about you making the icing the week before – how do you keep it? ‘bring it back to life’, etc!?

    • skmac31 says:

      I make up the icing and color it and store it in the fridge in a sealed Gladware type container. When I’m ready to use it, I take it out a couple hours before I need it and let it come up to room temp. Then I throw it in the mixer on med-high with the whisk attachment for several minutes until it’s fluffy again. Keep in mind that colors will darken and flavors will strengthen a little when stored for a few days before use. Hope that helps!!

  5. […] little toppers are similar to the ones I made for Caelan’s cupcakes, but with only 2 dozen to make, I got them done in no time! Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  6. […] seems like its been forever since I made a cake – the last one was Caelan’s birthday cake – so I was very excited to make a cake for a friend’s baby shower this weekend. I […]

Leave a Reply

