Banana Mini Muffins

Caelan and I were invited to attend a play group hosted by a Bumpie friend of mine. It was a pool party so attendance was much higher than usual for the play groups. I’m not sure what the final head count was, but it was somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 adults and 20 kids (most of them <2 years old!). Epic.

Naturally, such a large turn out called for pot luck for the food items. I decided to make some banana mini muffins since I wanted something small and kid-friendly. I found this recipe on one of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats. I skipped the sugar/cinnamon topping because while I’m sure it would have been delicious, I was sort of trying to avoid 20 toddlers on a sugar high.

The recipe claimed to make 10 standard size muffins and I ended up getting 47 mini muffins (so nearly 4 dozen). For some reason I always think that 1 muffin = 2 mini muffins, but that’s not really true. It’s more like double that. The muffins were good, but I think they would have been even better with the crumb topping.

Of course I didn’t plan ahead and I bought the bananas I needed for this recipe the day before I was going to make the muffins. I did put them in a paper bag to try to speed the ripening process, but I knew they’d never make it in just one day. So I Googled around and found out that I could bake the bananas to get them to the right sweet, squishy consistency I’d need for baking. I popped 3 of them in the (toaster) oven at 300° for about 30-45 minutes. They were frighteningly black when I took them out but not burnt or anything and they were nice and squishy on the inside. It was a nice short cut!

One Response to Banana Mini Muffins

  1. Jen says:

    Thanks for the quick-ripening trick! I’m sure that will come in handy, as I never seem to have enough bananas at the right overripeness at the same time for banana bread!

Leave a Reply

