Taking a detour

See that long red and black line? That’s my commute (or a good chunk of it). It normally takes about 40 minutes, but when it’s red/black like that it’s more like 70 minutes. And it was red/black for several days in a row last week. On the third day, when my blood pressure shot up and I was ready to claw my own face off, I decided to try to take a detour. Seems like an obvious plan, but there aren’t really any obvious detours – just winding back roads and I always get lost when I try to improvise and then I get upset and it’s just not a good situation.

By some miracle, my GPS (which had been on the fritz for months) came on, I made a u-turn and I was on my way. Even with my GPS on, I made a wrong turn (because I’m awesome like that) and my GPS recalculated a new route.

:: cue angels singing ::

My new route takes me past cornfield after cornfield, farm after farm, down winding roads through woods and quiet housing developments filled with lovely homes I only wish I could afford. My old route took me past farms also, but there was a lot of traffic. Not only is there no traffic on my new route, there are barely any other cars on the road. Finally my route takes me out onto a main road 1/2 mile from my office – 30 minutes flat.

Now I actually look forward to my commute! It’s almost relaxing. I take this quiet drive and I daydream that I will somehow stumble upon a secret neighborhood of affordable housing in this area. Highly unlikely, but you never know šŸ™‚

The only problem I’ve come across is that I’ve been taking my old route for so long that I do it on autopilot now. More than once this has resulted in me missing the one and only exit onto my detour. Hopefully with a little more practice, I will get used to taking the new route. It’s definitely done wonders for my stress level.

5 Responses to Taking a detour

  1. Mom/Grammy says:

    so what is this magical new route?? or don’t you want to share for fear that it will become just as crowded as the old route!

  2. Jen says:

    Hooray for better commutes! I know what you mean about being on autopilot, especially in the mornings – after switching jobs, I found myself going the wrong way more than once. I got the new pattern into my brain within about a month, though.

    Maybe you can use your GPS to help you remember, by aiming for an intersection along your new route. That way the GPS would warn you to get off at the right exit, then you could turn it off once you’re on your peaceful drive.

  3. Nancy says:

    I know what you mean!! But my alternate routes aren’t as pretty as yours – I’ll use your lovely images in my imagination to make the commute feel shorter :-).

  4. Kendra says:

    I have to know your magical route as well. I can kind of guess because I know the area well.

Leave a Reply

