More Christmas Crafts

Seriously, more? I’ve now completed 3 in the past week and a half which is insane. Granted, none of them were super involved, but still.

The first one was my ribbon wreath which you can read about here.

For the next one, I saw a picture of my friend’s daughter playing with a felt Christmas tree. After asking my friend about it and taking a peek on Pinterest, I decided to go for it. The whole project cost me about $6 and took me less than an hour to complete. I cut triangles out of green felt and arranged them in a tree shape on my wall and attached them with painters tape (this is not the best method, so I may change that later on). Then I searched my kitchen for something to trace to make ornaments. I ended up with a star cookie cutter and a plastic jar of sprinkles. Many of the examples of felt trees that I saw had more elaborate ornaments – glitter, stripes, other embellishments. But I wanted to keep it simple. After all, as Bill pointed out, Caelan would just destroy it anyway.

DSC_1737_c

And he does indeed enjoy ripping the ornaments off the tree and handing them to us with a super speedy “hepwitdat” (which means “help” or in this context “here, hold this” and he says it super fast for some reason). If we are not right there with him, he will collect all the ornaments and stuff them in the nearest shoe. True story.

He’s not much for putting the ornaments back on the tree. The felt ornaments do stick to the felt tree, but you have to gently place them on flatly, and well…Caelan’s more for crumpling them and then smashing them back against the tree. He can do it with a little guidance though.

For the next craft, I made stockings for our cats. May sound silly if you’re not a pet owner, but whatever. I just wanted them to be included. I found these stockings online at Party City and I thought they were cute and they were about the right size and definitely the right price.

stocking

Obviously, they say “My First Christmas” on them, so that wouldn’t work. So I used some left over felt from Caelan’s tree and covered the top part of the stocking. Then I glued letters on to spell out their names. Super easy. Now I guess Santa will have to get them something!

DSC_1747_c

2 Responses to More Christmas Crafts

  1. Jen says:

    I love how the tree turned out! Also love his shoe-based ornament storage system. Gotta keep the place tidy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

