Ornamental Variety

We were on the ball this year and got our tree put up on December 1st. During Caelan’s nap (wahoo, he took a nap!!) I put the ornaments on the tree. We have a small collection – only enough to fill a box slightly larger than a shoe box. This year, I just put them on the top half of the tree, leaving the bottom 3-4 feet clear. It seemed like that would be less stressful given that we have a toddler who likes “exploring”.

I kind of like the look of a tree with those colored glass ornaments, or one with ornaments of all one color (like silver)…everything looks nice and put together. But that’s not sentimental at all, so I prefer our collection of mismatched ornaments. I guess this is why some people have more than one tree, so they can do both. I think I saw an extra tree in our attic…maybe next year (don’t kill me, hon πŸ™‚ )

Anyway, back to the “mismatched” ornaments! I took pictures of some of them and I really like the variety.

Some classic…

Nutcraker

Nutcracker

Some that reflect our interests…

Cupcake

Cupcake

Elway

John Elway (Caelan’s new BFF – just ask him, he’ll tell you)

And our pets…

Jake and Beaker

Jake and Beaker

Loki, our girl who died a few years back

Loki, our girl who died a few years back

Quite a few Simpson’s ones…

Bart Simpson

Bart Simpson

Some that are completely random…

From my sister's Girl Scout troop. Not sure how I ended up with this one!

From my sister’s Girl Scout troop. Not sure how I ended up with this one!

Some that are familiar…

This one was on our tree when I was growing up - always near the bottom because kids and cats couldn't hurt it.

This one was on our tree when I was growing up – always near the bottom because kids and cats couldn’t hurt it.

Some that are sentimental…

Our First Christmas 2008

Our First Christmas 2008

Caelan's First Christmas 2011

Caelan’s First Christmas 2011

And some that use The Force to keep our tree safe…

Obi Wan Kenobi

Obi Wan Kenobi

One Response to Ornamental Variety

  1. Robin Black says:

    My favorite is Obi Wan Kenobi!! πŸ™‚ With a toddler it’s always good to have The Force protecting your tree!

    On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 8:34 AM, Decorate This

Leave a Reply

