Caelan’s 2nd Birthday Party

Last year for Caelan’s 1st birthday and party, he was sick, he hadn’t napped, and he was generally kind of out of it for most of the day. Despite all of that, the party was great and he did seem to have a good time. This year…things were better 🙂

In the morning, before the party, Caelan had a great time playing with his new water table on the deck – a birthday gift from Mommy and Daddy.

Making a mess!

Making a mess!

Then he went down for a nap leaving the 2 1/2 hours before the party kid-free so we could get everything set up and ready. I was kind of amazed at how well the timing worked out!

This year we did a Sesame Street theme for Caelan’s party. Sesame Street was my original idea for his 1st birthday but I decided to save it until he was older and would enjoy it more and I’m glad I did! I got all the paper products from Party City and months ago, I found these Sesame Street characters (in the freezer section of our grocery store of all places) to decorate with. While Caelan was napping, I also raided his toy box for his plush Sesame Street dolls and used those for decoration too.

DSC_0469_c

Sesame Street figures

For the menu, we did “toddler foods” which, conveniently, are big hits with adults as well. We had meatballs in the crockpot, Chik Fil A nuggets, pigs in blankets, mac and cheese, fruit, veggies, and cheese cubes. I’d never actually made pigs in blankets before, but now I’m trying to think of an excuse to make them again – so yummy!! But all of the food was either purchased, made by someone else, or required little to no prep so it was easy!

Party Table

Party Table

I did make the cupcakes, but those were easy too. I used a box mix for Funfetti and made 3 dozen cupcakes. I used my go-to vanilla buttercream icing and colored it red, blue, green, and yellow to match the cupcake liners and picks that came with the set pictured below. Bill gave me these for Christmas this past year and though Williams Sonoma has since stopped selling them, I was able to get another box on eBay so I had enough for all the cupcakes!

WScupcake

Cupcake Kit from Williams Sonoma

Caelan did MUCH better with the cake this year than last year when he kind of just stared at us all like we were crazy. He was excited to blow out the candle on his cupcake and had been practicing.

DSC_0497_c

Blowing out the candle

Caelan isn’t much of a fan of cake actually! He did eat some, but after only a few bites, he abandoned it and ran back to the fruit tray for his 800th grape. This kid was loving grapes that day!

For the decorations, I got a bunch of balloons for the tables and for out on the deck. Luckily I was able to get these from our grocery store because we don’t have a party store near by. Other than that, I made up a few signs to direct guests to food, drinks, etc. I also put up some pictures from Caelan’s 2nd year. I didn’t take “official” month pictures this year but just chose a favorite picture from each month to display.

Decorations

Decorations

For favors, I made decorated sugar cookies. My mom had given me a set of Sesame Street cookie cutters for Christmas (also from Williams Sonoma and also no longer sold) so I thought these would be perfect. I’m going to do a separate post on those since they were such a big project!

DSC_0471_c

Favors

The party was a lot of fun and I was happy to be able to have it at our house this year! I wish the weather had been just a tiny bit cooler so that people could have spread out on the deck, but at least the kids had fun out there! And the birthday boy seemed to have a great time all day, so that’s the really important part!

DSC_0555_c

This kid loves balloons!

One Response to Caelan’s 2nd Birthday Party

  1. Jen says:

    oh my gosh- everything is so so so cute! awesome job.

Leave a Reply

