Five Years

Today is my last day of maternity leave. Leah is 10 weeks old today and as much as I’d love to be sitting out on my deck drinking coffee in the crisp Fall weather, it’s pouring rain this morning. 10 weeks flew by with alarming speed and I can’t believe we’re almost ready to leave the newborn phase behind us, possibly for the last time.

But this isn’t my reflections post – that’s coming in a couple weeks. Before there was maternity leave, before there was a 10 week old daughter and a 2 year old son, there was this…

BBB_7500_c1

Our Wedding Day

Five years ago today, Bill and I got married. There wasn’t a drop of rain that day, in fact, it was absolutely gorgeous weather for our outdoor wedding.

BBB_7451_C

Cloisters Castle Courtyard

Most of you who read my blog know our story, but I’m going to tell it again anyway. Bill and I met on Match.com. I got extremely lucky and Bill was the one and only person I met from that site and, obviously, it worked out well for me πŸ™‚

CrabShanty

Crab Shanty 2006

We dated for a couple years and found that we had a lot in common. We both grew up in the same county and we both graduated from UMBC. We even lived in the same on-campus apartment at UMBC, though we weren’t there at the same time.

Larriland2007

Larriland Farm 2007 – Possibly my favorite picture of us ever

We moved in together after about 2 years and got engaged a few months later. Bill took me to a Valentine’s Day dinner on February 15, 2008 at McCormick & Schmidt in Baltimore where he nervously got down on one knee in the middle of the restaurant and asked me to marry him.

Engagement

Engaged – February 15, 2008

We got married on October 11, 2008 at the Cloisters Castle and then we spent 10 days at a Sandals resort in St. Lucia for our honeymoon.

Honeymoon

Honeymoon

Five years later and I’m still lucky enough to be married to my best friend and we’re lucky enough to be parents to these guys…

Kids

Leah and Caelan

Over the years, we’ve grown into a family. Together we learned how to be spouses and how to be parents and how to be spouses while being parents. Well, “are learning”, I should say, because we have many years ahead of us to keep learning how to be all of those things. We’ve had ups and downs, tears and joys – how cliche, right?! We’re a normal couple with 2 kids (a boy and a girl, no less), 2 cats, and a house that’s too small for us. How boring…except it’s everything I always wanted (except the house -we’ll get on that soon πŸ™‚ ) and I wouldn’t have any of it if I hadn’t fallen in love with this guy. So even though today is rainy and crappy and emotional and hard because it’s my last day at home with Leah…it’s a day to celebrate my marriage and it’s the first day of the next wonderful 5 years with my husband.

Love you meelions honey – Happy 5 Years ❀

DJWed

2010

Leave a Reply

